GLANDIENALE
NAIROBI
25/11 — 06/01
2018

  • contact
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    ZONE
    installation | kinetic object
    barrier, controller, motors, wheels
    An adaptable barrier is mechanized and automated, so it can constantly change its width, position and place. The kinetic installation crosses the exhibition space and, due to its programmed intelligence, does not run into the viewer. The moving barrier defines different banned zones and creates an ongoing process of Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

     
    Conspiracy Rooms
    drawings
    veneer, black board varnish, pencil drawing
    Photographs depicting the interiors of secret conspiracy dwellings served as the raw material for the series of drawings portraying different conspiracy rooms. These dwellings were used by the former Ministry of State Security (Stasi) of the German Democratic Republic as a meeting place for the Stasi‘s unofficial employees and Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Zelle

     
    CELL
    (Berlin-Hohenschönhausen)
    video | PAL
    duration: 60 min
     
    An endlessly rotating ceiling of a prisoner‘s cell filmed at the former Stasi prison at Berlin-Hohenschönhausen. The rotation of the cell is synchronised with the passing time and works like a clock only showing the seconds. The passing time remains an abstract and impalpable dimension and the prison remains a place Weiterlesen

    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Big machines give birth
    to small machines
    installation
    pea, motion system, irrigation system, controller
    Based on the lurching movement of a green pea on a white plate, this installation system imitates this movement in an artificial way. The system is controlled by a camera that recognizes the position of the pea and actuates its movement without allowing it to Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

     
    Retouching memory
    installation
     
    The installation „Retouching memory“ deals with the process of memorization and remembrance in an experimental and artistic way. It is about oblivion, displacement and falsification. „Retouching memory“ is a subsequent process of reinterpretating one‘s own past, which allows to rethink the own identity.
    The machine-generated pictures of this installation won‘t be long-lasting, but change steadily. Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

     
    This lamp will be famous
     
    indoor and outdoor installation

    This project consists of an indoor installation inside the exhibition, of  several outdoor installations in the urban space and of a downloadable software that connects itself to the server inside the exhibition. This project turns a disregarded everyday phenomenon (an error) into a separate aesthetic phenomenon.
    The initial point Weiterlesen

    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Fragmented body
    video installation
    5-channel | PAL
    A monolithic video body shows repetitive hand-drawn loops dealing with different phenomena of human condition. It is about pain, love, corporeality, violence and the cyclical sisyphean human existence. The individual soundtracks of each sequence create a polyphonic sound composition for this fragmented body.

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Ideal Audio
    installation
    turntables, barcode scanner, 11 records
     
    The combination of a turntable and a barcode scanner creates a new musical device, a kind of player that generates tones and sound compositions out of common barcodes. Every record contains several circular barcodes. The player translates these abstract lines into musical tones and generative noise comparable to an Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

    virtual room
    installation
     
    The installation virtual room consists of a precise scaled-down replication of the exhibition room. This  replication is made of foam and the visitor is able to look inside this simulated environment by a little peephole on the backside of the object. This closed grey object creates an ambivalent situation consisting of the own real Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Transparent city light
    +++
     
    video

    VIDEO
    Glandienale

     
    ALTAR NEO
    installation
    aluminum frame, mechanics, printed fabric, candles
     
    Altar Neo is an installation that simulates a digital LED display in an analog way. Reams of candles aranged on a small plank illuminate the inside of the object. The rotation of the printed treadmill on the outside can be initiated by manually winding a crank.
     

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

    Milchstrasse.18h51m06s
    +++
    installation
     

    · MORE ·

GLANDIENALE
JAKARTA
02/12 — 13/01
2017

  • contact
    Glandienale

     
    Konspirative Räume
    Zeichnungen
    Furnierholz, Tafellack, Bleistift
    Innenaufnahmen von geheimen und konspirativ genutzten Wohnungen dienen als Ausgangspunkt für die Zeichnungen der Serie Konspirative Räume. Diese konspirativen Wohnungen dienten dem Ministerium für Staatssicherheit (Stasi) der ehemaligen DDR als Treffpunkt von Inoffiziellen Mitarbeitern mit ihren Führungsoffizieren. Eingebettet in das Alltagsleben der Informanten wurde in den geheimen Wohnungen eine scheinbar gelöste und Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Zelle

     
    ZELLE
    (Berlin-Hohenschönhausen)
    Video | PAL
    Dauer: 60 min
     
    Die minimalistische Videoarbeit Zelle (Berlin-Hohenschönhausen) zeigt die endlos rotierende Zimmerdecke einer Gefangenenzelle im ehemaligen STASI Gefängnistrakt in Berlin-Hohenschönhausen. Die Rotation der Zelle erfolgt synchron zur vergehenden Zeit funktioniert wie eine Uhr, die nur die vergehenden Sekunden anzeigen kann. Die vergehende Zeit bleibt jedoch eine abstrakte und ungreifbare Dimension und das Gefängnis Weiterlesen

    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Grosse Maschinen bringen
    kleine Maschinen zur Welt
    Installation
    Erbse, Bewegungssystem, Bewässerungssystem, Controller
    Ausgehend von der Bewegung, die eine rollende Erbse auf einem Teller vollführt, wird diese Bewegung auf künstliche und eigenständige Weise imitiert. Ein unbeachtetes Alltagsphänomen wird zum Ausgangspunkt eines künstlichen Simulationsprozesses. Das System wird gesteuert von einer Kamera, welche die Position der Erbse auf dem Teller erkennt Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

     
    Retouching memory
    Installation
     
    Die Installation „retouching memory“ widmet sich auf experimentelle Weise dem Prozess des Erinnerns, vor allem den immanenten Vorgängen des Vergessens, Verdrängens und Verfälschens. Der Vorgang der Erinnerungretusche beschreibt dabei einen Prozess der nachträglichen „Reinterpretation“ der Vergangenheit, die es ermöglicht, die eigene Identität neu zu denken und sich selbst in einem veränderten Kontext von Vergangenheit Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

     
    This lamp will be famous
     
    Innen- und Außeninstallation
    Als Ausgangspunkt der Installation „This lamp will be famous“ dient das rhythmische Flackern einer defekten Hauslampe. Ein Lichtsensor ließt das Signal dieser Lampe aus und erzeugt daraus das Ur-Signal und versendet es an die angeschlossenen Lampen.
    Im massenhaften und synchronisierten auftreten des selben Fehlers übersteigert sich dieser und wandelt sich Weiterlesen

    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Fragmented body
    Video-Installation
    5-channel | PAL
    Ein monolithischer Video-Körper zeigt in seinen kurzen, handgezeichneten Video-Loops unterschiedliche Phänomene der menschlichen Existenz. Es geht um Schmerz, Liebe, Körperlichkeit und Gewalt. Der minimalistischen Soundfragmente jeder einzelnen Sequenz verbinden sich im Zusammenspiel zu einer polyphonen Klangkomposition.

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Ideal Audio
    Installation
    Plattenspieler, Barcode-Scanner, 11 Schallplatten
     
    Die Verbindung von Plattenspieler und Barcode-Scanner erschafft ein neues Gerät zur Klangerzeugung, dass aus Barcodes, Töne und musikalische Kompositionen generiert. Das Gerät übersetzt die mäandernden abstrakten Linien in Klänge, vergleichbar mit einem analogen Plattenspieler. Jede Barcode Sequenz kann dabei in eine musikalische Komposition übersetzt werden.
     

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

    Virtueller Raum
    Installation
     
    Der Virtuelle Raum ist eine materialisierte Metapher einer immateriellen Idee. Sein wesentliches Prinzip der Simulation ist nicht die Nachbildung einer realen Situation, sondern vielmehr die Konstruktion einer zweiten, formbaren Wirklichkeit.
     

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Transparent city light
    +++
     
    video

    VIDEO
    Glandienale

     
    ALTAR NEO
    Installation
    Aluminiumgestell, wechselbare Stoffbahnen, Kerzen
     
    Auf analoge Weise und unter dem völligen Verzicht auf Elektronik wird ein digitales LED-Laufband simuliert. Als Lichtquelle dienen unzählige, stufenweise angeordnete Teelichter und der Antrieb des bedruckten, halbtransparenten Laufbandes erfolgt durch manuelles Kurbeln. Simulation dient als zentraler Begriff dieser Installation, nicht nur als inhaltliche Botschaft des dargestellten Textes, sondern vor Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

    Milchstrasse.18h51m06s
    +++
    Installation
     

    · MORE ·