GLANDIENALE
SAO PAULO
28/11 — 09/01
2018

  • contact
    Glandienale

    Internal Affairs
    47 charcoal drawings on paper | 4 tables
    each 30 x 21 cm
    The drawing series „Internal Affairs“ examines the interference of different photo archives from the same historical period. The work creates an independent image archive at the interface between individual and collective memories. Photographs from private albums and from public archives, taken during Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

     
    The crisis of everything everywhere
    Installation
    irrigation system, buckets
    An ordinary error is intentionally implemented into the exhibition space. Almost invisible to the eye, a drip irrigation system is mounted onto a large area under the ceiling. Water drips down in countless places and gives the impression of a leaky and permeable roof. This water is collected in Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Detail

    Spy with birch
    Installation
    modified aluminium blind
    Spy with a birch is based on a surveillance video from the hidden archives of the Stasi (Secret Service) of the former German Democratic Republic. The installation uses the aluminum slats of a Venetian blind for the visualization of various images.

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Fühler Installation Glandien

    Fühler
    Installation
    flag, holder, controller, motor
    A modified and mechanized flag holder moves a dark blue flag and swings it back and forth. The swinging flag suddenly stops and violently hits the flagpole against the wall. The object explores its potential for freedom and its possible radius of movement in both directions and crashes into its limited space Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

     
    Nest
    Installation
    modified aluminium blind
    Nest is based on a surveillance video from the hidden archives of the Stasi (Secret Service) of the former German Democratic Republic. The installation uses the aluminum slats of a Venetian blind for the visualization of various images.

    Glandienale

     
    VARNISH
    installation
    lightbox, translucent photography
    Various light boxes illuminate translucent photographs which depict the boxes‘ interior. They show the hidden technology of these light boxes: lamps, reflective mirrors, cables and starters.
    The photographs cover the reality behind them with a thin medial veil.
     

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    ZONE
    installation | kinetic object
    barrier, controller, motors, wheels
    An adaptable barrier is mechanized and automated, so it can constantly change its width, position and place. The kinetic installation crosses the exhibition space and, due to its programmed intelligence, does not run into the viewer. The moving barrier defines different banned zones and creates an ongoing process of Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

     
    Conspiracy Rooms
    drawings
    veneer, black board varnish, pencil drawing
    Photographs depicting the interiors of secret conspiracy dwellings served as the raw material for the series of drawings portraying different conspiracy rooms. These dwellings were used by the former Ministry of State Security (Stasi) of the German Democratic Republic as a meeting place for the Stasi‘s unofficial employees and Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Big machines give birth
    to small machines
    installation
    pea, motion system, irrigation system, controller
    Based on the lurching movement of a green pea on a white plate, this installation system imitates this movement in an artificial way. The system is controlled by a camera that recognizes the position of the pea and actuates its movement without allowing it to Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

     
    Retouching memory
    installation
     
    The installation „Retouching memory“ deals with the process of memorization and remembrance in an experimental and artistic way. It is about oblivion, displacement and falsification. „Retouching memory“ is a subsequent process of reinterpretating one‘s own past, which allows to rethink the own identity.
    The machine-generated pictures of this installation won‘t be long-lasting, but change steadily. Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

    ohne Sorgen (free from cares)
    Benno Ohnesorg at the beginning of The Revolution Of 1968

    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Fragmented body
    video installation
    5-channel | PAL
    A monolithic video body shows repetitive hand-drawn loops dealing with different phenomena of human condition. It is about pain, love, corporeality, violence and the cyclical sisyphean human existence. The individual soundtracks of each sequence create a polyphonic sound composition for this fragmented body.

    · MORE ·

GLANDIENALE
TIFLIS
01/12 — 12/01
2017

  • contact
    Glandienale

    Innere Angelegenheiten
    47 Kohlezeichnungen auf Papier | 4 Tische
    je  30 x 21 cm
    Die Zeichnungsserie „Innere Angelegenheiten“ untersucht die Interferenz verschiedener Fotoarchive aus dem selben historischen Zeitraum. Die Arbeit erzeugt ein eigenständiges Bildarchiv an der Schnittstelle von individuellen und kollektiven Erinnerungen. Fotografien aus privaten Alben und aus öffentlichen Archiven, die annähernd zeitgleich entstanden sind, dienen als Ausgangsmaterial Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Detail

    Spion mit Birke
    Installation
    modifizierte Aluminium-Jalousie
    Die Installation Spion mit Birke basiert auf Überwachungsvideos aus den geheimen Archiven der Staatssicherheit (STASI) der ehemaligen DDR. Die Arbeit nutzt die Aluminiumlamellen von Jalousien als Trägermaterial zur Sichtbarmachung dieser Bilder.
     

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Fühler Installation Glandien

    Fühler
    Installation
    Fahne, Halterung, Controller, Motor
    Eine maschinisierte Fahnenhalterung bewegt selbstständig eine halbtransparente, dunkelblaue Fahne hin und her. Das mechanische Schwingen der Fahne wird immer wieder gestoppt durch das laute und gewalttätige Aufschlagen auf die begrenzende Wand. Mit Präzision und Gewalt ertastet das Objekt den möglichen Freiraum und zerstört ihn gleichermaßen. Die anfängliche Imitation einer menschlichen Geste mündet Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

     
    Nest
    Installation
    modifizierte Aluminium-Jalousie
    Die Installation Spion mit Birke basiert auf Überwachungsvideos aus den geheimen Archiven der Staatssicherheit (STASI) der ehemaligen DDR. Die Arbeit nutzt die Aluminiumlamellen von Jalousien als Trägermaterial zur Sichtbarmachung dieser Bilder.

    Glandienale

    Firnis (1) 
    Leuchtkasten / lichtdurchlässige Fotografie
    86 x 50 x 10 cm
     
     
    FIRNIS
    Installation (mehrteilig)
    Leuchtkasten, lichtdurchlässige Fotografie
    Verschiedene ausrangierte Leuchtkästen beleuchten transluzente Fotografien der eigenen Innenansicht. Die Fotografien zeigen die verborgene Technik des Leuchtkastens – die Lampen, Reflexionsspiegel, Kabel und Starter. Sie legen sich wie ein medialer Schleier über das eigentliche Objekt. Diese fotografische Oberfläche versperrt den Blick in Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    ZONE
    Installation | Kinetisches Objekt
    Absperrung, Controller, Motoren, Sensoren, Räder
    Eine gefundene Absperrung wurde automatisiert, so dass sie ständig ihre Ausdehnung, ihre Position und ihren beanspruchten Raum verändern kann. Dieses kinetische Objekt durchschneidet und begrenzt den Ausstellungsraum. Die vorprogrammierte Logik strebt dabei stets nach einer Ausgrenzung des Betrachters und definiert dabei immer neue Grenzen und Verbotszonen.
    Es bleibt jedoch Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

     
    Konspirative Räume
    Zeichnungen
    Furnierholz, Tafellack, Bleistift
    Innenaufnahmen von geheimen und konspirativ genutzten Wohnungen dienen als Ausgangspunkt für die Zeichnungen der Serie Konspirative Räume. Diese konspirativen Wohnungen dienten dem Ministerium für Staatssicherheit (Stasi) der ehemaligen DDR als Treffpunkt von Inoffiziellen Mitarbeitern mit ihren Führungsoffizieren. Eingebettet in das Alltagsleben der Informanten wurde in den geheimen Wohnungen eine scheinbar gelöste und Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Grosse Maschinen bringen
    kleine Maschinen zur Welt
    Installation
    Erbse, Bewegungssystem, Bewässerungssystem, Controller
    Ausgehend von der Bewegung, die eine rollende Erbse auf einem Teller vollführt, wird diese Bewegung auf künstliche und eigenständige Weise imitiert. Ein unbeachtetes Alltagsphänomen wird zum Ausgangspunkt eines künstlichen Simulationsprozesses. Das System wird gesteuert von einer Kamera, welche die Position der Erbse auf dem Teller erkennt Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

     
    Retouching memory
    Installation
     
    Die Installation „retouching memory“ widmet sich auf experimentelle Weise dem Prozess des Erinnerns, vor allem den immanenten Vorgängen des Vergessens, Verdrängens und Verfälschens. Der Vorgang der Erinnerungretusche beschreibt dabei einen Prozess der nachträglichen „Reinterpretation“ der Vergangenheit, die es ermöglicht, die eigene Identität neu zu denken und sich selbst in einem veränderten Kontext von Vergangenheit Weiterlesen

    · MORE ·
    Glandienale

    ohne Sorgen
    Benno Ohnesorg am Beginn der 68er Proteste

    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Fragmented body
    Video-Installation
    5-channel | PAL
    Ein monolithischer Video-Körper zeigt in seinen kurzen, handgezeichneten Video-Loops unterschiedliche Phänomene der menschlichen Existenz. Es geht um Schmerz, Liebe, Körperlichkeit und Gewalt. Der minimalistischen Soundfragmente jeder einzelnen Sequenz verbinden sich im Zusammenspiel zu einer polyphonen Klangkomposition.

    · MORE ·
    VIDEO
    Glandienale

    Ideal Audio
    Installation
    Plattenspieler, Barcode-Scanner, 11 Schallplatten
     
    Die Verbindung von Plattenspieler und Barcode-Scanner erschafft ein neues Gerät zur Klangerzeugung, dass aus Barcodes, Töne und musikalische Kompositionen generiert. Das Gerät übersetzt die mäandernden abstrakten Linien in Klänge, vergleichbar mit einem analogen Plattenspieler. Jede Barcode Sequenz kann dabei in eine musikalische Komposition übersetzt werden.
     

    · MORE ·